2 weeks ago I attended the Lonestar Soap and Toiletries Soapmakers Seminar in Austin – it was great!  It was a full day of talking about soap, which I don’t get to do very often with other people who actually LIKE to talk about soap.  Lots of great info shared, including an experiment that I participated in about natural colorants.  Thought I would share my contributions to the experiment here, as well as a link to the entire collection. 

I made 2 batches for the experiment (all that participated made a 1 pound batch with the same recipe and no extra additives besides the selected colorants).  I have had success in the past with lemon and orange juices in my soaps, so decided for this experiment I would try pomegranate and fresh squeezed OJ. 

used fresh squeezed orange juice instead of water mixed with the lye

pomegranate juice (POM brand) mixed with the lye instead of water. This one reacted violently - won't be trying this one again 🙂

David Fisher, writer for About.com’s Soap and Candle section, took all of our soaps with him and made this wonderful gallery of all 34 soaps that were made by different Texas Soapmakers.  I bookmarked this page immediately, and have already started more experimenting!

