Did you know that olives can grow in Texas?  I didn’t until this past weekend when I met Josh from the Texas Olive Ranch at the new public market in Fort Worth.  I thought olives only grew in fabulous far away places like the Mediterranean or Northern California (I think Northern California is fabulous, and it’s pretty far from Fort Worth).  Turns out I was oh-so wrong (an extremely rare occurence). 

basil infused olive oil from Texas Olive Ranch

 

Texas Olive Ranch is the only commercial olive oil producer in the lone star state, and they are cranking out some fabulous oils.  The ranch grows arbequina variety olives and has 40,000 mature olive trees on their farm in Carrizo Springs, about 100 miles south of San Antonio.  I tasted the lemon infused olive oil and ended up with a bottle of the basil – both are wonderful.  They have several other infused oils that sound great – next time I’m trying the rattlesnake cracked pepper and chipotle chili olive oil – yum.

 You can find their oils at a Central Market near you, or check their website for a list of all stores that stock their oils.

