I’m excited about my newest soap that is freshly cut and just out of the mold today – lemon poppy seed.  It’s doing time on the soap rack for at least 4 weeks, but I can’t wait to use it. 

lemon poppyseed soap loaf, just out of the mold. This makes 5 bars.

This was my first successful attempt to use something natural (not a colored oxide) to color my soap.  No artificial colors for me, as pretty as they may be, I don’t want them in my soap.  I’m only using plant-based materials to color and scent my soaps.  All previous attempts ended up various shades of the same color – brown.  But this soap turned out a lovely, creamy yellow – just what I was hoping for.  I squeezed 3 lemons and used the fresh juice mixed with water for my lye mixture, and, wa-la – yellow soap.  And it smells de-li-cious – just like fresh lemons (go figure!).

creamy yellow lemon poppyseed soap, colored with freshly squeezed lemon juice

This will become one of my regulars – going to make a large batch stat.  Hmm, now that I think about it, to make a big batch with the same proportions as this tiny batch, I’ll need a bunch more lemons.  30 actually.  That’s a lot of lemon juicing.  I’m going to need a lemon tree and one of those automatic juicers.  Or maybe my pathetic excuse for arm muscles will be my juicin’ tool.  Then I could say I’m juiced.  Ok, I’m done 🙂

